Jonathan Edward’s Resolutions…

5. Resolved, never to lose one moment of time; but improve it the most profitable way I possibly can

6.  Resolved, to live with all my might, while I do live”.

37. Resolved, to inquire every night, as I am going to bed, wherein I have been negligent, what sin I have committed, and wherein I have denied myself: also at the end of every week, month and year. Dec. 22 and 26, 1722

58. Resolved, not only to refrain from an air of dislike, fretfulness, and anger in conversation, but to exhibit an air of love, cheerfulness and benignity. May 27, and July 13, 1723.

28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same.

60. Resolved, whenever my feelings begin to appear in the least out of order, when I am conscious of the least uneasiness within, or the least irregularity without, I will then subject myself to the strictest examination. July 4 and 13, 1723.

2 responses to “Jonathan Edward’s Resolutions…

  1. Pingback: Jonathan Edward’s Resolutions… « qu'est-que c'est?·

Leave a Reply

