Looking For Love- Trip Lee & More Love to Thee – Fernando Ortega

“God does not accept me just as I am; he loves me despite how I am. He loves me just as Jesus is; he loves me enough to devote my life to renewing me in the image of Jesus. This love is much, much. much better than unconditional! Perhaps we could call it “contra conditional” love. God has blessed me because his Son fulfilled the conditions I could never achieve. Contrary to what I deserve, he loves me. And now i can begin to change–not because I can earn his love, but because I’ve already received it” (Original emphasis, David Powlison, “God’s Love” Resources for Changing Lives series)

__

How much will our daily lives be transformed when we firmly hold onto this truth that God is love and that God loves us, loves us enough to require and help us change? We need to constantly remind ourselves of God’s love.

Do I act on this truth? Did it change my paradigm, the perception of how I view life from the most ordinary and common things to deeper complex parts of life? Or did I, do I live in a delusional state of mind, searching for love, satisfaction, contentment elsewhere?… How do I view people in my life? With and through my self-centered, judgmental and demanding eyes or through the loving eyes of Jesus?

A part of the lyric goes, “I know you’re tired being let down so you looking for love in all the wrong places so search no more, ’cause it’s life of Christ your soul’s been missing”.  We need to STOP searching.  But it’s hard.. it’s not easy to just stop altogether and we are prone to wander. But! love for God and obedience go hand in hand and we have the Holy Spirit to help us.

This is all my prayer shall be, more love, O Christ to Thee!!!! ;)

More Love to Thee – Fernando Ortega

More love to Thee,
O Christ, more love to Thee!
Hear Thou the prayer I make on bended knee.

This is my earnest plea: More love, O Christ, to Thee;
More love to Thee, more love to Thee!
Once earthly joy I craved,
sought peace and rest;
Now Thee alone I seek,
give what is best.

This all my prayer shall be: More love, O Christ to Thee;
More love to Thee, more love to Thee!
Then shall my latest breath whisper Thy praise;
This be the parting cry my heart shall raise;
Still all my prayer shall be: More love, O Christ to Thee;

More love to Thee, more love to Thee!
More love to Thee, more love to Thee!

Leave a Reply

